Research Team

Ajay Narendra

Group Leader, Senior Lecturer, MRes Y2 Director

Ajay is interested in understanding how insects navigate in their natural habitats. He is also interested in the sensory structures and neural machinery that insects have evolved to memorise, integrate and recall information.

Email: ajay.narendra AT

Bhavana Penmetcha, PhD Candidate

Anatomy and physiology of the simple eye, the ocelli, in ants and bees.

Marcel Sayre, PhD Candidate

Neural circuitry of the central complex in ants and bees.

Casey Forster, PhD Candidate

Interaction between behaviour, microbiota & pesticide in honeybees and native bees.

Giovanni Ramón-Cabrera, PhD Candidate

Visual ecology of Strobe ants, Opisthopsis species.

Anuja Joseph, MRes Candidate

Visual guidance in ants while walking backwards.

Daniel Allman, MRes Candidate

Biomechanics of jumping in Myrmecia ants.

Recent Visitors

  • Prof Christian Peeters
  • A/Prof Marc Seid


Vaishnavi Sathyakumar, MRes 2022; Zachary Sheehan, Research Assistant 2020; Yuri Ogawa, Postdoctoral Fellow 2019; Frances J Kamhi, Postdoctoral Fellow 2019; Ravindra Palavalli-Nettimi, PhD 2019; Fiorella Ramirez-Esquivel, PhD 2018; Duncan Jaroslow, MRes 2018; Zachary Sheehan, MRes 2017; Alex Swaja, RA 2017.